Watchwords

Spectacular Science!

WORLD SCIENCE FESTIVAL BRISBANE: STREET SCIENCE! In 2019, the cultural forecourt at South Bank Parklands will again turn into a science playground with dozens of FREE Street Science family-friendly activities for everyone to enjoy. Take a seat at The Osmosis Stage and enjoy a stellar line-up of science shows and science surprises guaranteed to inspire and delight the young and the young-at-heart. Grab a drink and join in the discussions at the Festival Lab to discover the wonders of science through casual conversations and live events. Everyone is welcome to turn up for this science celebration for all ages, on Saturday, 23 March and Sunday, 24 March from 10.00 a.m. to 5.00 p.m., and remember, it’s all FREE! (Photo by L.J. May S/S)

Watchwords

This page is devoted to events and activities of interest to writers, illustrators and readers! Go to entries below the quick list for more detailed information.  

  • The AWG invites you to spend an evening with two of the top creatives from LIKE A PHOTON CREATIVE, a Brisbane-based production company specialising in world-class kids’ animation and children's TV and online content. Discover how they rose to stellar heights, at The King Room, QA Hotel, 64 James Street, Fortitude Valley on Wednesday, 13 March 2019 at 7.00 p.m.
  • Join SIMON CLEARY to discuss his new novel, The War Artist, a timely and compelling novel about the legacy of war, the power of art and the possibility of atonement. He will be at the Brisbane Square Library on Friday, 15 March from 6.00 p.m. to 7.00 p.m., and the Sunnybank Hills Library on Saturday, 16 March from 1.00 p.m. to 2.00 p.m.
  • Creators and readers of COMIC BOOKS and GRAPHIC NOVELS will thoroughly enjoy POP CULTURE MEET-UP, a monthly event with Aussie comic creator PAUL MASON. Lots of activities and great prizes to be won for people of all ages, at the Brisbane Square Library on Friday, 15 March 2019, from 5.00 p.m. to 6.30 p.m.
  • Join award-winning author PEGGY FREW and SUZY WILSON to discuss Peggy’s compelling new book, Islands, a spellbindingriveting, and brilliant portrait of a family in crisis. Book in at Riverbend Books, Bulimba for Friday, 15 March 2019 at 6.30 p.m.

 

The Event: FILMMAKER/PERFORMANCE WRITER ALERT! COME ALONG TO ‘BRIGHT LIGHTS: AN EVENING WITH LIKE A PHOTON CREATIVE’

Date and time: Wednesday, 13 March 2019 at 7.00 p.m. (come early, speakers begin at 7.30 p.m. sharp)

Venue: The King Room, QA Hotel, 64 James Street, Fortitude Valley.

Ticket price: AWG Members $5, Guests $10. Tickets from AWG website or on the door (if paying at the door please bring correct change) BOOK HERE

What’s happening: Don’t miss this chance to meet and get invaluable advice and knowledge from the development team of one of Australia's most exciting and successful new production companies. Conversation and Q&A will be followed by networking/social drinks with local writers, directors, producers and other members of the Queensland film and television industry – all at the QA Hotel (centrally located). #awgqld

The kids are alright and the big kids entertaining the kids are doing even better!

LIKE A PHOTON CREATIVE is a Brisbane-based production company specialising in world-class kids’ animation and children's TV and online content. Come and meet two of their top creatives, discover how they rose to stellar heights, and what it takes to break into the amazing but competitive world of kids' content. 

NADINE BATES is the CEO of LIKE A PHOTON CREATIVE, a multi award-winning production company that specialises in stellar children’s content, including Disney series, Balloon Barnyard and award-winning segments for Sesame Street USA’s 45-48th Seasons.

Prior to LAPC, Nadine was an in-house writer for Network Ten and freelance writer for the ABC. She's currently completing a PhD in children's writing with an Australian Postgraduate Award scholarship whilst simultaneously producing a 10 x animated film franchise called Tales from Sanctuary City for worldwide theatrical release. 

RYAN GREAVES is the Head of Development at LIKE A PHOTON CREATIVE and is the co-producer and Head of Story for three 3D animated feature films, all for theatrical release, funded by Screen Australia and Screen QLD. These films are titled The Wishmas Tree, Combat Wombat and Daisy Quokka: World’s Scariest Animal.

Ryan previously wrote and associate produced the hit Disney Junior 3D animated series Balloon Barnyard and produced the award-winning 'S is for Storytelling' episode for the 47th season of Sesame Street on HBO. As a writer, Ryan wrote the Screen Australia funded series, titled Crafty Kingdom, which was distributed on YouTube and three episodes of Hogie the Globehopper for Lil Critter Workshop, currently screening on Netflix worldwide.

 

The Event: MEET AUTHOR SIMON CLEARY

Date, time and BCC library venues for ‘Meet Simon Cleary’: Friday, 15 March 2019 from 6.00 p.m. to 7.00 p.m. at Brisbane Square Library (Phone: (07) 3403 4166); Saturday, 16 March 2019 from 1.00 p.m. to 2.00 p.m. at Sunnybank Hills Library (Phone: (07) 3407 0571).

Ticket price: FREE but bookings are required at the presenting library by contacting them on the phone numbers given above. NOTE that Weekday parking after 4.30 p.m. is available at the King George Square Car Park for $5.

What’s happening: Join SIMON CLEARY to discuss his new novel, The War Artist, a timely and compelling novel about the legacy of war, the power of art and the possibility of atonement.

Simon is the author of two novels, The Comfort of Figs (2008), which was published after the manuscript was shortlisted for the Queensland Premier’s Literary Awards. His second novel, Closer to Stone (2012), was inspired by his experiences in North Africa at the commencement of the Algerian civil war in the 1990s (it went on to win the Queensland Literary Awards People’s Choice Award).

What’s the story? When Brigadier James Phelan returns from Afghanistan with the body of a young soldier killed under his command, he is traumatised by the tragedy. An encounter with young Sydney tattoo artist, Kira, leaves him with a permanent tribute to the soldier, and it is a meeting that will change the course of his life. What he isn’t expecting on his homecoming is a campaign of retribution from the soldiers who blame him for the ambush and threaten his career. With his marriage also on the brink, his life spirals out of control.

Years later, Phelan is surprised when Kira re-enters his life seeking refuge from her own troubles and with a young son in tow. She finds a way to help him make peace with his past, but she is still on the run from her own. Books will be available for purchase on the day, or you can bring your own copy from home for Simon to sign.

 

The Event: POP CULTURE MEET-UP

Date and time: Friday, 15 March 2019, from 5.00 p.m. to 6.30 p.m.

Venue: Brisbane Square Library.

Ticket price: FREE to attend and no bookings are necessary – just turn up. Ring the Brisbane Square Library on (07) 3403 4166 if you have any questions.

What’s happening: Creators and readers of COMIC BOOKS and GRAPHIC NOVELS will thoroughly enjoy POP CULTURE MEET-UP, a monthly event with Aussie comic creator PAUL MASON at the Brisbane Square Library in the city. Lots of activities and great prizes to be won for people of all ages and no previous knowledge is necessary. Discuss and learn about what’s new in the fantastic and diverse world of comic books and graphic novels. Enjoy the latest comic book movie trailers, special guest speakers, challenging trivia, and character games.

 

The Event: MEET AUTHOR PEGGY FREW

Date and time: Friday, 15 March 2019 at 6.30 p.m.

Venue: Riverbend Books, 193 Oxford St, Bulimba Queensland 4171.

Ticket price: $8.00. Phone: (07) 3899 8555, email info@riverbendbooks.com.au or go online at http://riverbendbooks.com.au and click on Events to book your place(s). PLEASE NOTE: Riverbend does not issue paper tickets for events; your name will be on a list at the door, and they do not issue refunds or exchanges for event tickets.

What’s happening: Author PEGGY FREW returns to Riverbend to speak to SUZY WILSON about her compelling new book, Islands. A spellbinding novel in the tradition of Helen Garner, Charlotte Wood and Georgia Blain, Islands is a riveting and brilliant portrait of a family in crisis. Peggy Frew's first novel, House of Sticks, won the Victorian Premier's Literary Award for an Unpublished Manuscript by an Emerging Victorian Writer, and was shortlisted for the UTS Glenda Adams Prize for New Writing. 

Hope Farm, Peggy’s second novel, won the Barbara Jefferis Award, was shortlisted for the Stella Prize and the Miles Franklin Literary Award, and longlisted for the International Dublin Literary Award. She has been published in New Australian Stories 2Kill Your DarlingsMeanjin and The Big Issue. Peggy is also a member of the critically acclaimed and award-winning Melbourne band Art of Fighting. Islands is her third novel.

About the book: ‘There was a house on a hill in the city and it was full of us, our family, but then it began to empty. We fell out. We made a mess. We draped ourselves in blame and disappointment and lurched around, bumping into each other. Some of us wailed and shouted; some of us barely made a sound. None of us was listening, or paying attention. And in the middle of it all you, very quietly, were gone.’

Helen and John are too preoccupied with making a mess of their marriage to notice the quiet ways in which their daughters are suffering. Junie grows up brittle and defensive; Anna difficult and rebellious. When fifteen-year-old Anna fails to come home one night, her mother's not too worried; Anna's taken off before but always returned. Helen waits three days to report her disappearance. But this time Anna doesn't come back.

 

WHAT'S ON AUTHORS P2

WHATS ON AUTHORS P3

WHAT'S ON AUTHORS P4

WATCHWORDS HOME

WORLD SCIENCE FESTIVAL BRISBANE: BRINGING THEM BACK: THE DE-EXTINCTION DEBATE. If we could…should we? Earth is experiencing the sixth great extinction, this one created largely by us. Fortunately, human beings now have the tools to potentially undo some of the damage we have caused. New technologies could preserve vanishing species and habitats and even bring back extinct species like the passenger pigeon, the woolly mammoth and our beloved Tassie tiger. However, the case for de-extinction is complicated. Do we try everything we can, or are resources better spent addressing the escalating human impact on our current wildlife and saving what we’ve got? Join a panel of experts for a robust conversation exploring the possibilities of de-extinction science and the compelling question – just because we can, should we? Talk about it on Wednesday, 20 March 2019 in the Concert Hall, QPAC. Tickets: Adult: $35, Concession: $30, Student: $25. Book at http://www.worldsciencefestival.com.au. (Photo montage by L.J. May)