The LOGIE AWARDS were held for the first time on the Gold Coast in Queensland this year. And why wouldn’t you? Our Queensland winter is warmer than the UK’s summer, with an average temperature during the day of 22 degrees (Centigrade). Plus there’s surfing, swimming, beautiful beaches for walking, great shopping and a positive plethora of venues hosting a vibrant nightlife. Channel 9 broadcast the event on Sunday, 1 July 2018, which showcased all the glitz, glamour and gaffes we’ve come to expect. (Photo: Gold Logie displayed at the Powerhouse Museum in Sydney. Licence CC3.0 Unported)


On these pages you will find competitions and other opportunities for authors, performance writers for stage and screen, illustrators and filmmakers. See entries below the quick list for more detailed information.  

In this section we list competitions open to writers of prose and poetry. Detailed information poetry is listed below. Entries are in date order and those with deadlines looming are highlighted in red.   

  • In The Wheeler Centre’s initiative ‘THE NEXT CHAPTER’, ten outstanding writers will receive $15,000 each to develop their work. Organisers will match them with a mentor and work closely with them to bring their writing to life, and connect them with peers, publishers and readers. Apply now! Entries close on Friday, 13 July 2018.
  • Entrants for the QUEENSLAND POETRY AWARDS – OODGEROO NOONUCCAL INDIGENOUS POETRY PRIZE must be residents of Australia as of the date of entry, and the prize is open to Indigenous people only. Entries close at 5.00 p.m. on Friday, 20 July 2018.


Who: The Wheeler Centre.


Entries close: Friday, 13 July 2018.

Contact: To find out more about the initiative, go to the website at Find out moreApply for yourself, or nominate somebody now. For guidelines and the application form visit the website at

Cost: NIL to apply.

What’s happening: The Rules. The Wheeler Centre invites all aspiring Australian authors to participate in ‘THE NEXT CHAPTER’. They say: ‘This scheme will celebrate writers who reflect the diversity of Australian identities and experiences. As such, grants in any given year will be distributed amongst writers from a diversity of backgrounds.

‘It’s really hard to make it as a writer. Writers earn next to no money for their books. Even the most successful, most celebrated and acclaimed literary works in Australia can struggle to find an audience. Great books disappear without a trace every day.

‘When the markers of success and failure are that unforgiving, that means that taking a chance on becoming a writer is a privileged position. And if it’s hard to succeed, it’s doubly hard to take risks with the craft; to learn, to play, to develop and to explore. You might find your voice. But who’ll hear it?

‘The author must be at least 18 years of age and permanently reside in Australia, but does not have to be an Australian citizen. We encourage people who came to Australia as a refugee to apply. The submission must be entirely the author’s own original work and not have had more than 25% of the work previously published through one or multiple outlets, including online, unless previously self-published (ie. published independently at your own expense).

‘The work must be a work of prose, poetry, fiction or non-fiction, or graphic novel, aimed at readers aged 13 years and above, be presented in English (bilingual editions where one of the languages used is English are also eligible), and not be already under contract with a publisher. Read all the fine print on the application (or nomination) form. 

The Prize: Ten outstanding writers will receive $15,000 each to develop their work. Organisers will match them with a mentor and work closely with them to bring their writing to life and connect them with peers, publishers and readers.


Who: Queensland Poetry Festival.


Entries close: 5.00 p.m. on Friday, 20 July 2018.

Contact: Head to the website at for terms and conditions and the application form.  The winners will be announced at the Queensland Poetry Awards on Thursday, 23 August 2018 at the Judith Wright Centre of Contemporary Arts in Brisbane. 

Cost: FREE to enter.

What’s happening: The Rules. ‘We are the shadow-ghosts creeping back as the camp fires burn low’  from We Are Going by Oodgeroo Noonuccal. The QUEENSLAND POETRY FESTIVAL (QPF) 2018 is very proud to again present the OODGEROO NOONUCCAL INDIGENOUS POETRY PRIZE (Australia’s only open-age Indigenous poetry prize for an unpublished poem), after receiving permission from Oodgeroo’s family and in close consultation with the Quandamooka Festival.

The prize is named in honour of Oodgeroo Noonuccal (formerly Kath Walker), the first Aboriginal Australian to publish a book of verse,

Entrants must be residents of Australia as of the date of entry, and the prize is open to Indigenous people only. The Quandamooka highest place entry is open Quandamooka people only. The prize is for a single poem (or suite of poems) of 80 lines or less. The 2018 judges are Jeanine Leane and Graham Akhurst.

The Prizes: First prize is $2,000, plus mentoring sessions with an established Indigenous poet/writer. Highest Quandamooka entry: $500 Queensland Writers Centre credit and a performance opportunity at the Queensland poetry Festival 2019. Winners and highly commended will be published online.






SCENES FROM THE LOGIES 2018. Australians glued themselves to the set to watch the coverage on Channel 9 live from The Star Gold Coast on Sunday, 1 July 2018. This year marked the first time The Logie Awards were held on the Gold Coast. Queensland grabbed the event after the Victorian Government stopped providing funding for it. The ceremony was held later in the year than in previous years, to avoid clashing with the 2018 Commonwealth Games, which were also hosted on the Gold Coast. What that meant for eligibility was that nominations were extended to shows airing before 31 March 2018. There were a few other changes to the awards this year. In addition to the introduction of ‘live voting’ for 10 categories, the total number of categories were reduced from 27 last year to 20 in 2018 (probably so that people could head off early to the after parties). The awards voted for by the public were also renamed ‘Most Popular’ rather than ‘Best’. Ten of the categories were voted for by the public, with the remaining 10 ‘Outstanding Awards’ being voted for by the industry. (Photo of the venue by L. J. May S/S Ch9)